Wanted: Maid


OK, I’m married to a wonderful, amazing man.  However, he is incapable of noticing messes that he makes.  He leaves the cap off the toothpaste tube (that he squeezes from the middle… grrr) and leaves unused toothpaste plastered to the sides of the sink, puts plates in the sink with food still stuck to it, drops his clothes by the side of his bed (and then gets mad when he doesn’t have anything clean to wear) and leaves his underwear in the bathroom after his morning shower. I have tried nagging him, but that didn’t go over well.  Then I decided that I wouldn’t clean up after him and just let it get so bad that he would have to pick up after himself.  But he didn’t notice and I got sick of the smell after a few weeks so I ended up cleaning up after him anyways.

Before Jonathan was born, this was a problem.  Now that Jonathan is here and my days are completely consumed with changing, feeding, burping, bathing and rocking to sleep, its a catastrophe.  I think we have a week’s worth of dishes on the side of our sink.  I was able to do laundry on Saturday, but everytime I start to put those clean clothes away, the baby starts crying for something, so we have lots of clean clothes on the floor.  Not to mention that every person who comes over to visit brings us a gift.  I have approximately 12 gift bags in front of our closet that I’m scared to put away because I’ll forget who gave us what and to whom I need to send a thank-you card.  Sigh.

So my solution is that I need a maid.  I don’t have any money to pay a maid, but if you know of someone who just loves to clean up after a tired mommy and a messy daddy, please give them my email.  I’d love to hire them.

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on September 1, 2005, in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Be sure to get a ugly, female maid. All men go to a Man School where they teach them how to keep house in a “manly” fashion. This pressure may require them to look and act “dumb,” but in realtiy, it is a finely tuned strategy to avoid anything that might bring out their feminine side. Such schools also provide classes in Silent Communication, Dishes For Defense, Grunting Instead of Deodorizing, and The Freedom To Focus On Only One Subject At a Time.

  2. daniellaindie

    That’s hilarious, Susan! Did your husband go to the that school too?

    The funny thing is, I wrote this post 5 years ago and I have totally changed MY attitude about Anthony’s lack of dirt awareness. He just doesn’t see it. So if I want my house to look nice, I have to do it. Along the way, I’ve realized that if I ask nicely, he usually doesn’t mind when I ask him to help out. Every once in a great while, he cleans the kitchen just because, or picks up after the kids when I’m busy. I really make a big deal about those times, and he really feels proud of himself. I think now I’ll just focus on making MY boys aware of messes so their wives don’t have anything to complain about. =)

Leave a Reply

