Root canal


We had family therapy last night with my sister’s counselor.  As root canals go, it was not a very pleasant experience, to say the least.  As one sibling put it, we all just “threw our shit on the table”.  But as disgusting and painful as it was to dig into the sins and coverups in my family’s past and present, it was healthy to get it all out in the open.  Awareness of things I have been oblivious to, or reminders of the crap that others struggle with… somehow this has to help our family get better, get healthy, get stronger. I’m so tired of knowing that things were messed up within our family, of gossiping about everyone else’s problems, but never hearing from each person about what their own issue is/was.  I really hate the hypocrisy that has become the norm in our dealings with people outside the family.  Hopefully now, we can help each other live in the light.  I know my family will never be the same as it was when I was a child.  That is a fairy tale that has died.  But I have hope that God can make this shit storm into something like Noah’s rainbow.

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on July 20, 2009, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

