Staying on target


You know what the absolute most difficult part of parenting is? Being consistent. Not wavering on the rules. Because, quite honestly, it is MUCH easier to just say “yes, please, just sit on the couch and watch Nick Jr. all day. I’ll actually be able to clean the house, read and write to my heart’s content. There’s juice in the fridge and crackers on the counter. Knock yourself out”. It’s hard to constantly remind my littles that they have to have their beds made and room cleaned before they can have breakfast, and no, they can’t just eat peanut butter and jelly for every meal of the day, and we are not having Golden Spoon (frozen yogurt) for dinner, and share your toys and sit still and do your school work…

Because the reason why this is so hard is that I have to be in control of my self in order to train up these little ones. It requires my own self discipline to be the example of what I want them to be. I want them to be functional people, not couch potatoes. But it is exhausting. I feel so drained by nap time, that I wonder if it’s worth it sometimes.

But it is. It will be. It has been. This week, the child care workers at our new gym commented on how well-behaved my kids were, that Jonathan was helping Hannah and Joshua and being kind, that Hannah says “excuse me, please” and “thank you!”. And even though Joshua hasn’t been feeling well the last few days and I wanted to cry last night when he woke up for his 10th feeding of the night… he latched on and then reached up and patted my face, as if to say “Thanks for loving me this much, mamma”.

So I keep training; them and myself, to not take the easy, lazy route, but to stay on target and aim for the goal: functional human beings. It’s an exercise in self-discipline, and that’s healthy for me, and it’s good for them.

This revelation has been brought to you by a really good child training book: No Greater Joy Volume 2.

And perhaps, someday, I’ll get back to my book. I dreamed about it last night (after watching American Loggers… some inspiration), and I can’t wait to get the words out of my brain. Maybe tonight………

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on June 8, 2010, in Mothering, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You’re such a great mom, Dani. Just the fact that you strive for these things–that you strive for more for your family–is beautiful. I’m sorry Josh has been sick. I don’t know about you, but for me, if I haven’t been sleeping well, I can’t write anyway. It’s like there’s not enough brain function to create anything beyond the PB&J :-). I was at the store a couple days ago and a lady complimented me on how well behaved my kids are. I’m afraid I looked rather shocked. And then promptly glanced around to make sure Korbin wasn’t heading out to pee in the bushes or anything–which, I THINK we’ve cured him from. *fingers crossed*

  2. daniellaindie

    Thanks for relating, Mary.

    We had a lady compliment us at In-N-Out on Sunday that we “had the most beautiful children”. As Anthony and I proudly nodded and said “thanks”, Jonathan knocked over Hannah’s milkshake trying to hand Joshua a french fry and Hannah started crying and Josh screamed because the fry didn’t make it to his hand… so classic.

    And Jonathan still wants to pee on bushes. =)

Leave a Reply

