Mothers Need to Read!


This is a great article on the importance of mothers making time to read the classics and continuing their education at home alongside their children.  I have a degree in English, and I’m shocked at the number of classic books that I did NOT read during my formal education. Click the link to read some reasons why mothers reading is important and how mothers can make time to read (hint: it involves ignoring housework. I’m always OK with that!).  =)

Memoria Press: Classical Education.

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on September 1, 2010, in Best of the Web, Cleaning, Homeschooling, Mothering, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great post, Dani! I wish every mom could read it and then practice it. Thanks for the link.

  2. I was an English major, too! Can’t tell you how many times I’ve read Gulliver’s Travels and Moll Flanders. I’ve been trying to catch up on the classics I was never “required” to read. I read Jane Eyre a few years ago and it became an instant favorite! I started Wuthering Heights a couple of weeks ago, but I had to stop yesterday. There’s so much yelling in that book! Everyone is always cranky and mean. It’s stressing me out. lol Maybe another time for that one. I have to read something mindless in between the classics. 🙂

    Oh, and if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend The Monk by Matthew Lewis. SUCH a great read! Can’t put it down! It’s like the second Gothic novel ever. So good! One of my faves!

  3. Thanks for the recommendations, Rachel! Hang in there with “Wuthering Heights”, it’s worth it! Check out my author-friend’s post about it at http://mchristineweber.com/wuthering-heights-a-review/

  4. Oh Yay, very fun! Thanks.

  5. One of the biggest indicator of a child’s future ability to and love for reading is whether or not their parents read. It is so important that we let them see us delving into a good book! My hubby made a list of classics to read and has been working thru them for the last 2 years or so… 🙂

Leave a Reply

