Peanut Butter Pie


Due to a wonderful government program, we never lack for peanut butter.  This is a great thing, because my 5-year-old son thinks that peanut butter is its own food group. The most common snack for the kids in our home is Peanut Butter Spoon, which has two ingredients: peanut butter and a spoon.  Very complex. The other day, all three kids sat at the table with their peanut butter spoons while I read “The Tale of Peter Rabbit” to them for the first time.  It was a memory to go down in history. Peanut butter everywhere, and Peter Rabbit sent to bed without supper. Sheer awesomeness.  However, today I’d like to share with you my personal (and much more sophisticated) way to partake of peanut butter.

Before you get carried away on piles of tasty goodness, however, tell us what your favorite kid snack is and what kids book you would pair it with!

  1. Mash up a package of graham crackers w/ a stick of melted butter and pat around pie plate.
  2. Mix 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter with 1 cup of powdered sugar until crumbly. (I nuke the jar of peanut butter for 30 seconds to aid in the scoopability [hush, spellchecker! I’m inventing words])
  3. Get ready for the layers by whipping up some instant vanilla pudding and let it soft-set (if you are the Martha type, make pudding from scratch. I choose the path that gets me back to my book fastest.)
  4. Layer 1/2 of the peanut crumbles on the graham cracker crust.
  5. Spread pudding over peanut crumbles.
  6. Layer another 1/4 of the crumbles onto the pudding.
  7. Spread Cool-Whip over crumbles
  8. Top with remaining 1/4 of the peanut crumbles.
  9. Chill.
  10. Put your kids to bed and turn on the football game for your husband (trust me, this one is kinda messy and you don’t REALLY want to share :-D)
  11. Dig in!

(We saw an episode of Man vs. Food on the Travel Channel featuring Mrs. Yoder’s Peanut Butter Pie from Sarasota, FL. This is my take on it.)

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Food, Parenting, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m totally making this on the weekend. Peter’s obsessed with peanut butter and will be thanking you like crazy. 🙂

    Kid’s book and food, huh? Um…I’m a bit partial to the book “Alex’s Lemonade Stand” and making a big pitcher of lemonade from scratch with the kids. 🙂

  2. Tom loves peanut butter–he eats it on everything–well, almost. My favorite cookies to eat with my kids/grandkids are cowboy cookies. The book? The original Peter Pan because it uses the word “ass” and my kids would always ask me questions about it being used in a children’s book. Ahhh, our changing language!

  3. I am definitely making this as I also have hordes of PB thanks to our government, and this is a great reason to get chunky! My husband doesn’t like peanut butter, so I will not even have to share : )

  4. Glad I’ll be making Peter and Tom happy…. don’t know what I can do about Will, though, Lori. How can the man NOT like peanut butter? He must be a foreigner!

    Books:
    I have to say, that I’ve never read either “Alex’s Lemonade Stand” or the original “Peter Pan”. Dang, and I thought I was good on the kid lit front! Oh well. It gives me a great excuse to use my Border’s coupons! Lori, what kid book do you like to read to your youngsters?

Leave a Reply

