Rule breakers


There has to be a law out there, somewhere, stating that young children should not be allowed to get up before 6 AM on a Saturday morning. Mornings are my creative time, when I usually get my best writing done.

Sadly, my children have no respect for time decrees such as the 6 AM rule and always sabotage my attempts to luxuriate in bed with my laptop on the weekends. Promptly at 5:57 this morning, the baby starting “talking” (ma-ma-ma-MAAAA-ma-ma), the three-year-old climbed in bed asking for me to paint her fingernails, and the five-year-old wanted a schedule of the day’s events, and for that schedule to include a trip to the mall, the park, and the Wild West.

What I WISH they'd do more of...

What I WISH they'd do more of...

As I lay there, playing dead, wishing this would be the day when they would morph into those kids who play quietly in the other room, I had a revelation:

No freaking wonder I haven’t been able to write much lately.

I’m raising hyperactive, imaginative humans. And that takes a lot more creativity than any of my side projects. Because, really, in light of these incredible bundles of energy, my story is way down on the list of priorities.

So popping out of bed and enthusiastically mixing chocolate milk and cream cheesing bagels, I’m OK with just letting my need to write the next great work of fiction sleep in for a while. I’ve got a lot of life to manage.

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on October 23, 2010, in Mothering, Parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. It’s hard to wedge in writing time when you only get a smattering of free moments during the day. But, don’t let your need sleep for too long. It’s hard to get back to it sometimes after long breaks. Good luck!

  2. I love that you were “playing dead.” That’s hilarious. And I’m playing a bit of writing hooky today as well. The weather’s too beautiful, and I’m too tired (plus I’m waiting on beta reader 1 for final plot alterations). So enjoy your day, my dear, with the kiddos and relaxing. I am planning to make your breadsticks after a thrilling trip to Costco ;-P.

  3. Woah woah woah… I thought *I* was your beta reader, Mary. Enjoy the lovely weather and my breadsticks while I try to get over not reading your MS… =P

  4. I loved the sound effects of your youngest…and your writing sleeping in! You are writing daily history in your little ones’ lives. They’ll remember that! I so miss you.

  5. Lovin’ it!! The LIFE of a real mother!! I remember “playing dead” when one of babies would awaken in the night…John would nudge me so I’d be the one to get up, I’d play like I was still asleep, longing for him to rise! We laugh about it today!!

    SOO glad you are journaling your life, their little lives! I did this while my kids grew and it’s precious to remember!

    You’re a GREAT mother, Dani!!
    Love and miss you!!

  6. Thanks, aunt Kathy! Anthony’s gotten a LITTLE better at hearing the baby at night, but not much. =D

  7. Well . . . I came back to write a P.S. and I’m not sure if my previous comment actually made it to you or not. In case not: I came across your blog through SeededBuzz and I like your blog! It’s very encouraging to find other stay-at-home moms and aspiring writers!

    I noticed you like Twilight so I was wondering if you’d read Maggie Stiefvater’s books (Shiver, Linger). I haven’t read them yet but I did start reading her blog and it is truly hilarious – you should check it out: http://maggiestiefvater.blogspot.com/

    I’ve subscribed to your blog! Thanks!

  8. I’m probably a terrible mama because I let my son stay back there and talk anywhere from half an hour to an hour after he wakes up (sometimes a little longer if I’m grumpy!). Once he wakes up, I get my shower and everything done before I go back to get him. He’s never upset back there—just talks and talks. Doesn’t even get out of bed, which is incredible (and I hope that’s always the case!). I know a lot of moms have an “I’m-not-going-back-there-till-8am” rule, which I’m happy to endorse. Mamas need time, too! Perhaps your time can be after they go to bed. Starbucks is open till 11…with free Wi-Fi…

  9. Rachel, no judgement on parenting styles… whatever keeps you sane is perfect! =) I’m a huge fan of hanging out at Starbucks, but I think that is directly correlated to my employment status there… its a fairly perfect part-time job for mothers with young kids! =D

Leave a Reply

