Pumpkin Cobbler – Thanksgiving Recipe


Growing up, my family collected people.  I guess, to be accurate, we still collect people.  I was home visiting my parents last week and they had collected two young ladies who are living in their house. Both my parents have the gift of hospitality, which means that, even if you are a total stranger, you’ll be invited in for food, fellowship and my dad will probably ask you to help rake leaves while he gives you advice.

One Thanksgiving when I was younger, our “big brother” (not really related… just someone we’ve collected) brought his girlfriend over.  Her contribution to the meal was this magnificent pumpkin cobbler.  We’re not really sure what happened to the girlfriend, but we’ve kept her recipe and it has become a part of our family’s Thanksgiving meal.

Before you head off to cook yourself silly, answer this question: what is your favorite Thanksgiving dish?

Pumpkin Cobbler

Pre-heat oven to 350.

Bottom layer:

1 cup yellow cake mix

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup melted butter

Crumble with fingers and pat around a greased 9×12 glass pan.

Filling:

1 large can pumpkin

3 eggs

2/3 cup milk

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons cinnamon

pinch of salt

a few dashes each of clove, ginger, and nutmeg.

Mix together and then pour over the cake mix crumble.

Topping:

1 egg

1/2 cup butter

remaining cake mix

Beat together until smooth. Drop by the spoonful over the pumpkin mix.

Bake for 40-50 minutes. Excellent with whipped topping or ice cream when fresh from the oven. Also excellent chilled with a cup of coffee the morning after Thanksgiving.  =)

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on November 24, 2010, in Food, Holiday, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. And you can read my insanely talented mother’s blog here: http://picniconacloud.blogspot.com

  2. I’ve only had this once–when you brought it over. And it was incredible. Now I wish I’d added it to my Thanksgiving menu… Mmmm….

  3. So… I tweaked this recipe again today. I used egg nog instead of milk, and added a splash of the nog to the topping. Haven’t tried it yet, but the smells coming out of my oven are insane. I can’t wait to eat this tomorrow!!

  4. I love the *be-ing* of Thanksgiving. Be you a cooker, baker, snitcher, corker, setter, server, refiller, washer, dryer, hoster, gamer, herder, visitor, whatever-er. The be-ing on Thanksgiving is my favorite dish!

Leave a Reply

