Wherein My Kids Make You Laugh


We have to keep our energy costs down during the “peak hours” of 3-6PM when the electricity costs twice what it does during the rest of the day. This usually means we turn off our A/C and retire to the pool for that time period. Thankfully, it’s ‘only’ been around 100 the last few days, so the apartment isn’t too hot when we get home. Yesterday, we didn’t start feeling warm until after I’d made dinner. That’s when I asked Jonathan (6) to go turn on the A/C.

“It’s not working, Mom!”

“OK, I’ll get it later.”

After tucking the kids in bed, I walked past the thermostat and flicked on the A/C without really looking. Then I went to bed with Josh (23 months). It had been a long day.

Anthony came to bed later and mentioned that it was cold. “So go turn off the air,” I mumbled sleepily. “I’m not the one who turned it on,” he shot back. Stellar logic.

At 4:30, I was awakened from a lovely dream of watching the snow fall outside our window in Colorado by PG-13 exclamations from Anthony about how freezing he was, and he finally jumped out of bed to turn off the A/C. “WHO TURNED IT ALL THE WAY DOWN?” he yelled (I’m sure our neighbors LOVE us).

Crap.

I guess when Jonathan said the A/C wasn’t working, it’s because he moved the wrong switch, and I didn’t notice it when I turned it back on. The apartment was about 55 degrees. The low outside last night was 79. Next month’s electric bill is going to hurt!

It gave us a great excuse to stay in bed a little longer with all the kids and then go hunting for our socks and sweaters before getting to the breakfast table.

At breakfast, the kids were looking at the prizes on the back of the Frosted Mini-Wheat’s box and “claiming” their prizes.

Jonathan: “I get the Legos!”

Hannah: “I get the Cars 2 DVD!”

Jono: “You know, they should have an iPad2. I’d win that!”

Me: “Jonathan, they have TOYS. I don’t think iPads are good prizes for kids.”

Hannah: “Yeah, Mom. That’s what HE said!”

Jono (with eye roll): “Mmmmoooommmm! She’s copying Michael Scott!”

I almost spilled the milk I was frothing, I was laughing so hard!

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Best of the Web, Funny, Parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

