My favorite Christmas pun of all time


I first read this punny story in Reader’s Digest at my Grandma and Granddaddy’s house when I was about seven. I still laugh when I think about the punch line!  Enjoy, and Merry Christmas!

Big chess tournament

The big chess tournament was taking place at the Plaza in New York. After the first day’s competition, many of the winners were sitting around in the foyer of the hotel talking about their matches and bragging about their wonderful play. After a few drinks they started getting louder and louder until finally, the desk clerk couldn’t take any more and kicked them out. 

The next morning the Manager called the clerk into his office and told him there had been many complaints about his being so rude to the hotel guests….instead of kicking them out, he should have just asked them to be less noisy. The clerk responded, “I’m sorry, but if there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s chess nuts boasting in an open foyer.” 

Aha! Jokes > Funny Puns > Big chess tournament.

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in Best of the Web, Funny, Holiday, Hotel. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very cute :0). Merry Christmas to you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

