Winds of Change…again


I could make this really dramatic, but these details are boring. Basically, I’m no longer employed. So for the first time, I am “just” a stay-at-home mom. I’ve always worked part-time, or been in school full-time since our kids were born. I went to work when Jonathan was 6 weeks old.

I’m thrilled.

Of course, there is the stark terror of losing 1/4 of our income. I’m not sure how the math is going to work out next month. And I keep having this compulsion to check my email (nope, nothing interesting) and I keep having the feeling that there’s SOMETHING ELSE I should be doing. I didn’t realize how much mental stress I was under while working from home. I actually cleaned the floors yesterday. All of them. And today, someone got jelly on the tile…so I was actually able to steam the floors AGAIN. I don’t think I’ve ever cleaned the floors two days in a row!

I’m spending lots of quality time with Josh and Izzy this week. Playing on the (super clean!) floor with them, reading to them, playing outside in the garden (although my lizard-hunting skills are really rusty). I have time to make dinner, make lunches, prep breakfast. I did ALL the laundry yesterday. And I’m almost done putting it ALL away. The last time I did that was…never.

I have TIME to coupon. I have TIME to blog. I have TIME to garden. I may even…gasp! have time to finish my book!

Oh the adventures! The drama!

I’m REALLY missing my big kids, though. With one car and their school 40 minutes away, they are gone as long as Anthony. Now that I can focus on my kids, I want them HERE with me….

Expect more from me in the future. I have time to explore my dreams. And I think it’s worth the trade off.

Teaching Izzy how to eat!

Loving Joshy’s wild side!

Missing my big kids!!

About daniellaindie

I'm Anthony’s wife, and mother to Jonathan, Hannah, Joshua, and Isabella. When not making PBJs and cleaning, I like to write, immerse myself in a good book, play my piano, or plan epic couponing trips.

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Budget, Cleaning, Coupon, Desert wandering, Mothering, Parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’ll figure out what to do. Glad you’re enjoying your children.

  2. M. Christine Weber

    Aww such sweet pictures of the kids!!! And yay for the opportunity to stay at home. But yes, I can understand about it being scary! Praying for you, my friend. I’m excited to see what God has for you in the midst of this and can’t wait to see where he’s taking you all! :0)

Leave a Reply

