Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford in One Day!


Windsor Castle

An early start to our Saturday morning, we headed out from Victoria Coach Station with our entertaining tour guide, Toby, and brilliant driver, Mark. Being at Windsor Castle was surreal…so ancient; I remember reading all the histories when I was at Cal Poly and yet so many recent events there that I’ve obsessively watched, too (who hasn’t obsessed over all the royal weddings?). It was absolutely incredible to be there in person and to see places where everyone from King William the Conqueror to Prince William, Duke of Cambridge have dwelt. Unbelievably amazing experience!

Stonehenge

From Windsor, we rebounded our tour coach and set out on the long drive to Wiltshire to visit Stonehenge. There was an accident on the road ahead of us, so we had a lot of slow-moving traffic. That’s OK, because I think I found the Wood Between the Worlds from The Magician’s Nephewwhile we waited for the road to clear.

Now this is the part of the post where I give you some touring tips:

  1. Pack a scarf, hat, and gloves, no matter how nice the morning starts out. Stonehenge was freezing cold.
  2. Check to make sure your phone is in your pocket before you leave the tour coach (bus), because it’s too far to go back. I didn’t get any pictures of Stonehenge.
  3. Buy a phone charging pack. Anthony’s phone died on the way to Stonehenge, so he also got no pictures.
  4. Make friends with your tour guide. When I told Toby that I’d left my phone and we didn’t get a single picture of the standing stones, he kindly sent me some of his!

Oxford

After leaving Stonehenge, we drove another long stretch to Oxford. This was significant for Anthony and I, because almost 12 years ago, I was studying mediaeval literature at Cal Poly and had the opportunity to study abroad at Oxford. We had already had Jonathan the year before, but had this crazy idea that maybe this could work out and our family could spend part of the coming school year in England. However, we soon discovered that we were pregnant, and decided that this was not the time to be making wild changes in our family. This was absolutely the right choice to make, but I’ve always kind of had this “what would it have been like…” thought. Heading into Oxford, I was thrilled to see it, and also completely content with the choice that our family made to stay home and grow our family.

Leave a comment