Post-Workout Iced Latte


Well, it’s June 10th, and in Arizona, this means that we’ve already enjoyed a week of 100 degree temperatures! Naturally, this is the week that I have decided I need to get myself back on a workout schedule and move my body. After all, I’m hiking Grand Canyon this fall and I need to be in my best shape ever! Despite waking up super early and opening my garage door to the morning air, I was hot and dripping sweat after 30 minutes with my trusty weight bench.

It was time to hit the kitchen and fix me some iced cold recovery. Even if I don’t workout every morning, I need two things to get my day started: coffee and protein. Since my gastric sleeve surgery in 2016, I have limited space in my stomach, so I maximize by adding protein powder to my morning espresso beverage. Most protein powder gets weird and lumpy if you add it to coffee without blending it, but I’ve found one that I’ve added to everything from yogurt to coffee and it doesn’t lump and it doesn’t add any weird flavors.

Want to make your own? Here’s what you need: espresso, protein powder, sweetener, milk, and cocoa powder (if you want).

Espresso: If you have an espresso machine, that’s the fastest way to get your coffee, but brewed coffee works with this, too. I got a DeLonghi espresso machine on sale from Amazon last Black Friday, so that’s my personal favorite.

Medical-grade Protein Powder: I use Genepro, but friends of mine have also used Unjury powder which works in a similar way. Genepro has 30 grams of protein in one tablespoon and dissolves completely in liquid without altering the taste. It’s also less than 60 calories per serving, so it’s a pretty amazing substance.

Cocoa powder (optional). I like to mix a spoonful of cocoa powder into my coffee (so technically, I’m actually making an iced mocha…but then I’ll have to change the titles to the video and this post, so we’re gonna stick with latte). I used Hershey’s Cocoa Powder today, and usually sprinkle in some cinnamon, too. Cocoa powder may have lots of health benefits, but I just really like the way it tastes.

Sweetener: I’m currently using Splenda because I got a good deal on a box of it, but I know it isn’t the greatest sugar alternative, health-wise. Go with your own personal favorite!

Milk: Like with the sweetener, I used what we had in the fridge. Typically, I would use coconut or almond milk, but we were out, so 2% cow’s milk is what I went with.

Ready to make it? Let’s go!

I make weird faces when I’m making coffee. Also, this is really me. Really sweaty. Because I really did just finish working out. Maybe next time I do a video, I’ll shower first…

So that’s it! I’d love to hear what YOUR favorite post-workout beverage is, so please leave a comment!

Hey, do you like my shirt? I’m a brand ambassador for Just Strong clothing and you can pick up this shirt on their website and use my discount code, DANIINDIE10 for 10% off your order.

Leave a comment